Today at CYCHeadlines From the Clubhouse

Watkins Wins Hans Otto Giese Inspirational Award

Brian Watkins, left, receives the Hans Otto Giese trophy from Junior Staff Commodore Wayne Balsiger, center, and Commodore Ken Johnson.

Brian Watkins, the current rear commodore who initiated and led the “CYC Restart” meetings last fall, was named winner of the 2011 Hans Otto Giese Inspirational Trophy at the club’s awards party Jan. 20 at Shilhole.

The Restart meetings were planned to find ways to invigorate the club in the face of declining membership and decreasing revenues, problems common to many yacht clubs around the United States.

“When we started this, I wondered whether we actually had a club,” Watkins told the full clubhouse after receiving the award. “I found out that we do.”

The meetings produced a number of initiatives designed to kickstart the club, including a revised dues schedule, and a membership drive. Through the meetings, a number of younger leaders emerged who are viewed as key to the club’s future.

The award is named for the club’s first commodore, who also was one of its founding members.

To see a gallery of photos from the party, click here.

Other honors announced or presented at the party were:

  • HONOR ROLL OF CHAMPIONS.  – members who have won national or international championships or have achieved honors of an equivalent level.

 Dalton Bergan – Moth Class North Americans – Newport Beach (11 boats), including Charlie McKee, Lindsay Bergan, Matt Pistay

Mark Bradner – SJ 24 North Americans – 17 boats, Oak Harbor WA,

Chris Johnson – Cape Flattery Race, First Overall (Heavy Class) – 29 boats

Steve Travis – Van Isle 360  (scoring based on results in 10 races around Vancouver island) – 1st Overall, Division 1  (10 boats, including Dark Star (Jonathan McKee) and White Cloud (Steve Johnson)

Performance Awards – for winning various Club races and regattas.

COMMODORE – GIBSON RACES – actually two “race-cruise” events – to Port Ludlow – one boat won both events in 2011 – light airs dominated – and on the 2nd day, only boat to finish. Outlaw, Cindy Gossett (staff commodore) and Derek Storm (newest Honorary Life member)

STUARTS AT SHILSHOLE (race has outlasted the sponsor) – CYC Jack n Jill  double-handed race. More Cowbell –    Kathryn Meyer (Board member) and Bill Blodgett (Fleet Captain-Race)

KVI WINDJAMMER TROPHY – winner of the early season Windjammer Series

Delirium –    Jerry Diercks (Fleet Captain –  Race for last several years)

BLAKELY ROCKS RACE TROPHY –winner of the Blakely Rocks based on PHRF

The T-Bird Invader – Marty Godsil (last year nominee for Sailor of the Year)

 POSSESSION POINT – OR SCATCHET HEAD TROPHY – also on a PHRF basis. Bravo Zulu – Dennis Vaughn

 No Three-Tree Point race – abandoned

 WERNER OHMES FOGHORN TROPHY – overall best  boat in Center Sound, formula in the Race Book, depending on finishing position in each class and number of boats in that class. Dos – Brad Butler and Paul Faget – from Port Madison YC.

NORTHWEST CHALLENGE CUP – best overall performance in Center Sound, PSSR and PSSC, Jubilee – Erik Kristen


 GEORGE SPALDING AWARD – most inspirational junior – exemplifies the CYC Spirit of amateur sailing, dedicated effort and fair sportsmanship. Alexa Ripple 


 GARY HORDER MEMORIAL TROPHY – award to the CYC Junior Sailor who enjoyed an active and successful racing program, Julian Martin

 DOG HOUSE TROPHY – MOST UNSEAMAN-LIKE ACTIVITY, Mark Bradner , San Juan 24 Return, for an upside-down spinnaker hoist.


 Jarana – Bill and Kathy Cuffel, currently cruising the South Pacific


The Kristen Family – Erik, Stephanie, Tom and Mary


Absolutely – Kiwi One-Ton – Charlie

 SAILOR OF THE YEAR , Harry Dursch, J/24 Self Abuse





Upcoming Events

Fri 17

Friday Social

November 17 | 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sat 18

Turkey Bowl

November 18 - November 19
Mon 20

Monday Lunch

November 20 | 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Mon 20

Seahawks Viewing Potluck

November 20 | 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu 23

Thursday Dinner – CANCELLED

November 23 | 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM