Today at CYCHeadlines From the Clubhouse

2016 CYC Award Nominees Wanted

Posted in: Cruising, Racing, Social & Educational Events, Today At CYC ♦ Wednesday, October 26th, 2016, 11:23 AM ♦ No Comments on 2016 CYC Award Nominees Wanted

The 2016 racing season is coming to an end, and it is time to consider the 2016 CYC outstanding performers. The Board will consider all nominees and the Award winners will be announced in January 2017.

If you have a nominee or suggestion for a 2016 CYC Award, please provide your suggestions (with a brief bit of background explaining the basis for the nomination) to Ken Johnson, by email ( or by mail:  3706 So. Ridgeway Place, Seattle, WA  98144.  Or you can drop them off at the CYC Shilshole office.   Ken will assemble the nominations and present them to the Board for its decisions.

The Awards are:

Honor Roll of Champions – CYC sailors who have won national or international championships or have achieved honors of an equivalent level.

Sailor of the Year – consistently races and places in the top tier of dinghy or keelboat races; this award includes sailors who are outstanding crew or who are on different boats throughout the season.  Recent winners include Carl Buchan, Fritz Lansinger, Keith Whittemore and John Hoag.

Boat of the Year – for an outstanding season in CYC and other NW races.  Recent winners include Tremendous Slouch (Scott Milne),  Ranger (Pat Schnirmer), Terremoto (Bill Weinstein) and  Delirium (Jerry Diercks).

Hans Otto Giese Inspirational – one who has consistently provided leadership and inspiration to CYC and the amateur sailing community. Recent winners include Geoff Pease, Michele Rogalin Henderson, Remmert Wolters and Noel Morgan.

Boating Family – an active family in racing, cruising, CYC activities, other sailing efforts. Recent winners include the Buchans, Walgrens, Creitzs, Lhamons and Kristens.

Greig Memorial Cruising – leadership and cruising accomplishments whether in local or blue waters.  Recent winners were Rich Jablonski and Elaine Cashar, Ron and Peggy Watt, Paul Baker and Suzette Connolly and Bob and Margaret Liston.

Gary Horder Memorial – CYC Junior with active and successful racing program.  Recent winners include Talia Toland, Owen Timms, Julian Martin and Hanne Weaver. 

George Spalding Inspirational – most inspirational Junior sailor. Recent winners include Blake Bentzen, Abbie Carlson, Marcus Huttenen and Owen Timms.

Dog House – a sailor who handicaps him/her self by unseamanlike activity – usually some bad luck and hopefully with a bit of humor in it.  Recent awardees include Lee Youngblood & Kathleen Davis (not achnoring on a Blakely Rocks cruise), Bruce Van Deventer and Bob Rinker (parking at PSSR) and Steve Travis (aground at the Van Isle 360).

Upcoming Events

Sat 18

Turkey Bowl

November 18 - November 19
Mon 20

Monday Lunch

November 20 | 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Mon 20

Seahawks Viewing Potluck

November 20 | 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu 23

Thursday Dinner – CANCELLED

November 23 | 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Fri 24

Friday Social – CANCELLED

November 24 | 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM